About

Study California is a membership-driven non-profit public benefit corporation of the State of California formed for the purpose of bringing talented international students to diverse educational programs offered by California’s institutions of higher education and English language programs.

Because the demand is so high for education in the United States, and because California offers such a diversity of quality programs, Study California was formed to offer students and advisors one place where individuals could search for programs.

Study California strives to increase the number of international students enrolling in California’s schools and universities, as well as to facilitate partnerships between California’s schools and schools abroad. It is an important mission of the organization to embrace other culture and further cross-cultural understanding globally. We hope to make the state of California a top study destination worldwide! If you are looking for a school in California, or if you would like to help us facilitate Study California’s goals, please contact us. We would love to hear from you!

Board of Directors

Carol Johnson
Study California Chair
Senior Assistant Director of Global Recruiting
Monterey Institute of International Studies at Monterey
Email: cgjohnson@miis.edu 
Phone: 831-647-4113

Vi Ly
Chair-Elect
Dean of Academic Affairs
Los Angeles City College
Email: lyvk@lacitycollege.edu
Phone: 323-953-4000 X2060

Grant Parsons
Study California Past Chair
Associate Director, American Language and Culture Institute
California State University San Marcos
Email: gparsons@csusm.edu
Phone: 760-750-3202

Yuri Sakamaki
Study California Treasurer
Director of American Language Institute and International Student Success Global Outreach Divison
California State University, Bakersfield
Email: ysakamaki@csub.edu
Phone: 661-852-8228

Gwendolyne (Gwen) Guzman Rose
Study California Secretary
Manager, International Relations and Partner Development
University of California, San Diego
Extension International Programs
Email:  geguzman@ucsd.edu
Phone: 858-405-2535

Roxana Tunc
Study California Communications Manager
Associate Director of Admission and Recruitment
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Email: rtunc@calpoly.edu
Phone: 805-756-5824

Juan Villegas de Santiago
Study California, University of California Liaison
Associate Director of Admissions Recruitment
California State University, Merced
Email: jvillegas@ucmerced.edu
Phone: 209-201-1074

Cody McCabe
Study California Community College Liaison
Director, International Education Programs, Intensive English Academy
College of the Desert
Email: cmccabe@collegeofthedesert.edu
Phone: 760-346-8041

Daniel Marschner
Study California Private School Liaison
Director of International Admissions
Loyola Marymount University
Email: daniel.marschner@lmu.edu
Phone: 424-789-0973

Vanessa Andrade
Study California California State University Liaison
Associate Director, International Programs and Partnerships
California State University, Northridge
Email: vanessa.andrade@csun.edu
Phone: 818-677-5948

Dan Lesho
Study California, University of California Extension Liaison
Senior Director, International English and Pathway Programs
California State University, Davis
Email: dlesho@ucdavis.edu
Phone: 530-757-8712

Izy Alilin
Member at Large
International Student Outreach Coordinator
San Francisco State University
Email: ialilin@sfsu.edu
Phone: 415-405-4254

Sarah Mcgregor, Ed. D.
Member at Large
Director, International Gateways
San Jose State University
College of Professional and Global Education
Email:  sarah.mcgregor@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-2663

Teresa Tope
Member at Large
Coordinator, International Student Program
Santa Rosa Junior College
Email: ttope@santarosa.edu
Phone: 707-527-4514

Elissar Kurban
Member at Large
Special Advisor, Global Initiatives
Study Abroad & Summer Sessions
UC Berkeley Summer Sessions.
Email:  ekurban@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-666-3785

Gabriela Zelaya
Federal Government Liaison, Ex-Officio
Global Education Team Leader
U.S. Commercial Service – San Jose/Silicon Valley
U.S. Department of Commerce
Email:  gabriela.zelaya@trade.gov
Phone: 408-335-9202

Charlotte Ennen
Study California Intern
MPA/MA Public Administration and International Education Management Candidate
Middlebury Institution of International Studies
Email: info@studycalifornia.us